Page about 
Toutant-Beauregard from Louisiana


Origin of the name

Beauregard = Beau + regard, litterally Beautiful look.

There are about 150 places called Beauregard in France. The Beauregard name is usually given by the local geography. It designates a promontory allowing to have a beautiful look over the surroundings. It is thus not surprising to find many Beauregard Castles, for example, and many gave their name to wines.

The Toutant-Beauregard

Roots of this family is somewhat confused. From official version, it descends from a named Tider, a Walsh rebelled against the King of England, who moved to France, to La Rochelle, where he became Toutant, about year 1200. Then, about 1600, a descendant married a Lady Paix de Beauregard said to be the last of the name, and the family became Toutant-Beauregard. A branch went to Louisiane under Louis XIV (who died in 1715, so this part is fictive), with Jacques Toutant-Beauregard who married Madeleine Cartier. This couple has a child baptised in New Orleans in 1753.

This family is mostly known for its descendant, Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard, the famous South general who ordered to fire the first canon shot of the US Civil War.

I found 106 descendants of this family, including Daniel Beauregard.

Note that Toutant-Beauregard is not exactly a dit name. Most people were using Toutant as 2nd or 3rd given name (i.e. , we have Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard, whose given name is "Pierre Gustave Toutant").
 



[Homepage of Beauregard families]
[Homepage of the Web site FrancoGène]
[Version française]

(C) Copyrights 1999 Denis Beauregard
www.francogene.com/beauregard/toutant-e.php

New: Bookstore

La Page sur les familles 
Toutant-Beauregard de Louisiane


Origine du nom

On retrouve environ 150 endroits appelés Beauregard en France. Le nom Beauregard provient généralement de la géographie des environs. Il désigne alors un belvedère ou un promontoir permettant d'avoir un Beau Regard sur la région. Ce n'est donc pas surprenant si on retrouve plusieurs Châteaux Beauregard, par exemple, dont certains ont donné leur nom à des vins.


Les Toutant-Beauregard

L'origine de cette famille est un peu confuse. Selon la version officielle, elle descendrait d'un Tider, gallois révolté contre le roi d'Angleterre qui passa en France, à La Rochelle, où il prit le nom de Toutant, ceci vers l'an 1200. Puis, vers 1600, un descendant épousa une dame Paix de Beauregard que l'on dit dernière du nom, et la famille devint alors celle des Toutant-Beauregard. Une branche passa en Louisiane sous Louis XIV (pourtant décédé en 1715), avec Jacques Toutant-Beauregard époux de Madeleine Cartier. Ce couple fit baptisé un enfant à la Nouvelle-Orléans en 1753.

Cette famille est surtout connue pour son descendant le plus célèbre, Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard, le fameux général sudiste qui ordonna de tirer le premier coup de canon de la guerre civil américaine.

J'ai répertorié 106 descendants de cette famille, dont Daniel Beauregard.

Notez que Toutant-Beauregard n'est pas exactement un "nom-dit". On trouve de façon générale Toutant comme 2e ou 3e prénom (par exemple, on a Pierre Gustave Toutant Beauregard, dont le prénom est "Pierre Gustave Toutant"). 



[Page d'accueil des familles Beauregard] 
[Page d'accueil du site FrancoGène]
[English version]

(C) Copyrights 1999 Denis Beauregard
www.francogene.com/beauregard/toutant.php