Page about Davignon dit Beauregard families


Origin of the name

Beauregard = Beau + regard, litterally Beautiful look.

There are about 150 places called Beauregard in France. The Beauregard name is usually given by the local geography. It designates a promontory allowing to have a beautiful look over the surroundings. It is thus not surprising to find many Beauregard Castles, for example, and many gave their name to wines.

Davignon is likely formed from the name of Avignon in the South of France.  D'Avignon litterally means "from Avignon".  It is thus quite possible that the first of that name is from Avignon, or that his ancestors were living there.  But we don't know more.

The Davignon dit Beauregard

Roots of François Davignon dit Beauregard are unknown. He would be born in France about 1686 and married Madeleine Maillot at Chambly in 1719. Nearly all his descendants preferred Davignon, except one line living in Michigan, and another one not yet linked but which I expect to connect to that of Michigan.

I found 1390 Davignon, most being descendants of François, but it seems a specialist of that family found 2500 of them, most being located in USA. 



[Homepage of Beauregard families]
[Homepage of the Web site FrancoGène]
[Version française]

(C) Copyrights 1999 Denis Beauregard
www.francogene.com/beauregard/davignon-e.php

New: Bookstore

La Page sur les familles Davignon dit Beauregard


Origine du nom

On retrouve environ 150 endroits appelés Beauregard en France. Le nom Beauregard provient généralement de la géographie des environs. Il désigne alors un belvedère ou un promontoir permettant d'avoir un Beau Regard sur la région. Ce n'est donc pas surprenant si on retrouve plusieurs Châteaux Beauregard, par exemple, dont certains ont donné leur nom à des vins.

Davignon rappelle la ville d'Avignon dans le sud de la France.  Il est donc assez vraisemblable que le premier du nom vienne du sud de la France, ou encore que ses ancêtres en viennent.  Mais nous n'en savons pas davantage malheureusement.

Les Davignon dit Beauregard

L'origine de François Davignon dit Beauregard est inconnue. Il serait né en France vers 1686 et épousa Madeleine Maillot à Chambly en 1719. Presque tous ses descendants ont préférés Davignon, sauf une lignée établie au Michigan, et une autre lignée qui n'est pas encore rattachée mais qui pourrait fort bien se brancher à celle du Michigan.

J'ai répertorié 1390 Davignon, presque tous descendants de François, mais il semble qu'un spécialiste de cette famille en ait identifiés 2500 situés surtout aux États-Unis. 



[Page d'accueil des familles Beauregard]
[Page d'accueil du site FrancoGène]
[English version]

(C) Copyrights 1999 Denis Beauregard
www.francogene.com/beauregard/davignon.php